My Mandela

As a photographer I’m used to telling other peoples’ stories, but once in a rare while life will throw an opportunity at you that is almost beyond belief.
A moment in time that compels you to share and this is one of mine.
Here is a glimpse at one of my “pinch yourself” experiences….
To bear witness, to capture, to BE a part of history itself.
That’s what it felt like to be selected as the official photographer for Nelson Mandela’s 90th birthday.
The honor was all mine as I documented a celebration of a nation, the pride in a hero, and witnessed friends and family gather to pay tribute to an extraordinary man.
There were, of course, pageantry and official ceremonies, but above all –  there was an abundance of love. For “love” is the only word both pure and powerful enough to describe the events as well as the man himself on that extraordinary day.
THAT is my Mandela.
madiaba90th-338
madiaba90th-26man2madiaba90th-502madiaba90th-137madiaba90th-91madiaba90th-135madiaba90th-618man1madiaba90th-27madiaba90th-409

One thought on “My Mandela

  1. What an amazing honor,brings tears to my eyes. I am not surprised that you were selected to capture such a historic event. Your talent is unsurpassed and deserves the recognition you are receiving. Your photos speak for themselves as they exude pride, happiness and a zest for life as Mandela is surrounded with love. Congratulations!

    Like

Leave a comment